Poem: “Resistance” by Addy Biggers

Resistance

So that moment…
When your conscience fell
Alternative facts immigrated to your heart to dwell
Too harsh? Well…
Just.wait.a.minute
‘cause I’m far from finished
Fit and built for distance
My resistance
Is empowered by love
From Above
Void of insanity
The core of my Christianity…
Humanity
All for one and one for all
Leaves no place for bans or walls
If I recall…
This land was made for you and me
You see
From sea to shining sea
Beacons of light for those fleeing, freeing
Simply being
Who God ordained them to be
Shall not be diminished
We.are.far.from.finished
Why can’t you see…
We are better together than apart
My heart…
Is aching, breaking
Between the cracks
Let my light shine through
Because for you…
I pray for peace
Let you release
Your anger, your hatred, your fear
Hear, here
Clearly!
This isn’t merely
My time to string together words that rhyme
Instead…
From my heart and head
These are my truths
With my conscience in tact
I reject alternative facts
Adopted by reprobates
Whining
Opining
Defining
America to fit their comfort and cause
Pause…
Let that sink in
Friends
Without and within, trust
This fight against injustice is a must
Humanity is at stake
We shall not forsake
The fight
Our rights
Do as the Lord requires
And when you tire
Call me on
I am fit and built for distance
#Resistance

-Addy Biggers, Refugee, American, Spoken Word Artist

About Laomagination Media

Focused on a mission to develop a body of multicultural, multimedia resources that meets the needs of Lao Americans and their friends and families interested in the speculative arts, whether it’s science fiction, fantasy, horror or other artistic genres engaging the Lao imagination and heritage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

